Durham B Division Champions 2017


Durham B Division Trophy

South Shields Chess Club have in recent years fielded a team in the Durham league as well as three teams in the Northumberland League. Captained by Eddie Czestochowski, the Durham team operates a rotational policy in an effort to give a wider opportunity to members throughout the club. The team was usually picked based on availability, on venue and on who our opponents were. This season we utilized 12 players who all contributed very well to our overall success in winning the Division B Championship. This year the 12 teams in the Durham League played an all play all basis through the first part of the season .  South Shields finished in 6th Place which qualified them in the play off for the B Division Trophy. This put us into a knockout situation where wins against Gateshead and Durham were required to secure the B Division Championship .

Congratulations to the team consisting of Paul Bielby , Brian Towers , Yaroslav Kolodiy , Dave Paterson , Colin Campbell ,Chris Sayers , Jim Riddle , Ben Wood ,Piotr Niedbal,Dominik Schwarz , Asanga Gunasekera, Eddie Czestochowski .  Thank you all for your efforts .